Search Options:

Search In:

10191: Will the prayers of a person who eats haraam food be accepted

Is it true that if you eat Haram food your salat does not get accepted for 40 days ?

Published Date: 2009-07-01

Praise be to Allaah. 

If you eat haraam food, this will cause your du’aa’ to be rejected, hence it was reported in a hadeeth qudsi: “He is nourished  with haraam, so how could his du’aa’ be responded to?.” The meaning is that it is unlikely that his du’aa’ will be answered. But salaah (prayer), which includes du’aa’ and other things, will still be accepted, in the sense that it serves to fulfil his obligations, and he does not have to repeat it. What was narrated was that it is the one who drinks alcohol whose prayer will not be accepted for forty days.

Shaykh ‘Abd al-Kareem al-Khudayr
Create Comments