Tuesday 3 Jumada al-ula 1443 - 7 December 2021

Different types and periods of ‘idda (waiting period)


Publication : 05-10-1997

Views : 21876


What are the different types of ‘ idda (waiting period) and what are their extents?


Praise be to Allah.

According to the Islamic shari’a, the ‘idda is a waiting period with certain exigencies required of a woman when the appropriate condition existseither divorce or death (of her husband). As for divorce, the ‘idda for a pregnant woman is until she delivers her child, and for one who still menstruates, it is three menstrual cycles, whereas for one who is either too young or too old to menstruate, it is three months.

As for the widow whose husband has passed away, if she is pregnant then her ‘idda is until she delivers her child; otherwise, it is four months and ten days.

Was this answer helpful?

Source: Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid