Saturday 14 Muḥarram 1446 - 20 July 2024

Types of ‘Iddah


Publication : 05-10-1997

Views : 38586


What are the different types of ‘iddah (waiting period) and what are their extents?


Praise be to Allah.

According to the Islamic Shari`ah, the iddah is a waiting period with certain exigencies required of a woman when the appropriate condition exists; either divorce or death of her husband. 

As for divorce , the ‘iddah for a pregnant woman is until she delivers her child. 

The ‘iddah for one who still menstruates, is three menstrual cycles, whereas for one who is either too young or too old to menstruate, it is three months.

As for the widow whose husband has passed away, if she is pregnant then her ‘iddah is until she delivers her child; otherwise, it is four months and ten days.

And Allah knows best.

Was this answer helpful?

Source: Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid