Search Options:

Search In:

31: Different types and periods of ‘idda (waiting period)

What are the different types of ‘ idda (waiting period) and what are their extents?

Published Date: 1997-10-06

According to the Islamic shari’a, the ‘idda is a waiting period with certain exigencies required of a woman when the appropriate condition exists—either divorce or death (of her husband). As for divorce, the ‘idda for a pregnant woman is until she delivers her child, and for one who still menstruates, it is three menstrual cycles, whereas for one who is either too young or too old to menstruate, it is three months.

As for the widow whose husband has passed away, if she is pregnant then her ‘idda is until she delivers her child; otherwise, it is four months and ten days.

Islam Q&A
Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid
Create Comments